Spotlight on the north 4 | WarnerTimes 0333 202 0304 Calls (including calls from any type of line including mobile, BT, other fixed line or payphone) cost no more than calls to (01 or 02) geographic numbers. NORTHERN (HIGH) LIGHTS A ‘True and tender is the north’ wrote Tennyson more than 150 years ago. And who are we to argue when we look at the region’s top-drawer delights. s soon as you arrive at Alvaston Hall, you’ll know this is a place that always puts you first. In 2017, the AA awarded the hotel four stars and Britain in Bloom gave its gardens a gold medal. Driving forward with this success, the team here is now inviting you to sample its new-look weekends. The property was once the centre for Cheshire social life and is making a return to its party roots. A delicious three-course dinner in the Grove cabaret restaurant is a great way to kick off, and there’ll be wine and fizz by the glass so you can keep trying something new. The party will then get going with lively acts and music until late. To make mornings easier, breakfast will be served until 10.30am, and there’ll be a raft of new activities to take you through the day. How about a wine masterclass and cocktail demo, and brand-new Motown and 60s acts? Or a guided walk around Cheshire and a trip to the races? These weekends start in March. Why not be one of the first to give them your stamp of approval? Tee off right outside your room at Alvaston. It’s the only Warner to have its own golf course Step out and explore Cheshire’s leafy lanes and captivating woods and parkland 2018 CALENDAR Wednesday 9 May Thursday 10 May Friday 11 May Saturday 26 May Saturday 16 June Friday 29 June Saturday 30 June Friday 13 July Saturday 14 July Saturday 28 July Sunday 5 August Saturday 1 September Friday 14 September Saturday 15 September Saturday 29 September CHESTER RACE DATES NANTWICH The medieval market town of Nantwich is a couple of miles from Alvaston and has a little of everything to catch your fancy. Stroll along the winding streets with timbered buildings and red brick town houses. Shop for trinkets in the boutiques and craft shops. And get a taste for the local produce at the market and in the local pubs and tea rooms. Find out more warnerhotels.co.uk/alvastonguide GO ONLINE FOR MORE The Grove cabaret restaurant Alvaston Hall Hotel